CD 1:

  1. Hymn To The Mother
  2. You Are So Beautiful
  3. Amazing Grace
  4. Red Bank
  5. What’s Going On
  6. Angel Oak
  7. Te Amaré
  8. I’m Afraid
  9. Hafez, Shattered Heart

CD 2:

  1. Rabo de Nube
  2. Blood Count
  3. Go Down Moses
  4. Beyond Darkness
  5. Nocturne
  6. Wayfaring Stranger
  7. Deep River
  8. Lift Every Voice And Sing
  9. Prayer, The Crossing

Charles Lloyd – tenor saxophone, alto flute, taragato
Geri Allen – piano
John Abercrombie – guitar
Marc Johnson – double bass
Larry Grenadier – double bass
Billy Hart – drums

Charles Lloyd introduces a new line-up, or line-ups, on “Lift Every Voice”. The recording derives from two sessions in Los Angeles in January and February of this year. The first employed the services of pianist Geri Allen (making her ECM debut), Larry Grenadier and Billy Hart, the second Allen, John AbercrombieMarc Johnson and Hart. (For live work in varying contexts, Lloyd is now pooling permutations of these musicians).