1. Dancing Waters, Big Sur To Bahia (For Gilberto and Caetano)
  2. Bharati
  3. Secret Life Of The Forbidden City
  4. Miss Jessye
  5. Hyperion With Higgins
  6. Darkness On The Delta Suite
  7. Dervish On The Glory B
  8. The Caravan Moves On

Charles Lloyd – tenor saxophone taragato
John Abercrombie – guitar
Brad Mehldau – piano
Larry Grenadier – double-bass
Billy Higgins – drums

Volume Two of the sessions that produced the immensely popular ‘The Water Is Wide’, dedicated to Charles Lloyd‘s lifelong friend, the drummer Billy Higgins, who died in May 2001. It is a joyous tribute. Where the previous album offered a programme of ballads the pace intensifies on ‘Hyperion with Higgins’. Lloyd: ‘The idea is like with the old Southern preacher. You go low and you get high and then you catch fire’. This second installement picks up the tempo. The jazz of ‘Hyperion’ is hotter. Lloyd’s tenor sax is fierier, John Abercrombie has much more solos space to fulfill as only he can, and Brad Mehldau‘s solos are also more outgoing.

Release Date: September 3, 2001

ECM Records