CD 1:

  1. Kratissa ti zoi mou
  2. Dream Weaver
  3. Blow Wind
  4. Requiem
  5. Hymnos stin Ayia Triada
  6. In the Dry Soil
  7. Messa stous paradissious kipous
  8. Taxidi sta Kythira

CD 2:

  1. Prayer
  2. Vlefarou Mou
  3. Margaritarenia
  4. Thalassaki Mou
  5. Epirotikom Meroloi
  6. Kaegomae kae Sigoliono
  7. Mori Kontoula Lemonia
  8. Alismono haeromae
  9. Tou Hil’ to Kastron

Charles Lloyd – Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Tarogato
Maria Farantouri – Voice
Jason Moran – Piano
Reuben Rogers – Double-Bass
Eric Harland – Drums
Sokratis Sinopoulos – Lyra
Takis Farazis – Piano

Stunning performance in front of a huge audience at the open air Odeon of Herodes Atticus, as Charles Lloyd, uniquely-expressive saxophonist, and Maria Farantouri, Greece’s voice of resistance, come together. Friends for some years, this is their first recorded collaboration. Lloyd’s brilliant quartet is on hand – with Jason Moran in especially creative mode – augmented by lyra player Socratis Sinopoulos and second pianist Takis Frazio in a marvelous programme that includes songs by Mikis Theoedorakis, suites of Greek traditional music, Eleni Karaindrou’s “Journey to Kythera” and Lloyd originals including his classic “Dream Weaver”. “Athens Concert” is a major event, a very special live album indeed.

Release Date: August 26, 2011

ECM Records