1. I Fall in Love Too Easily
  2. Go Down Moses
  3. Desolation Sound
  4. La Llorona
  5. Caroline, No
  6. Monk’s Mood
  7. Mirror
  8. Ruby, My Dear
  9. The Water Is Wide
  10. Lift Every Voice and Sing
  11. Being and Becoming
  12. Tagi

Charles Lloyd – Tenor Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Voice
Jason Moran – Piano
Reuben Rogers – Double-Bass
Eric Harland – Drums, Voice

Charles Lloyd has always led exceptional bands, and this is one of the finest. Following on from the live “Rabo de Nube” which won both the Readers and Critics Polls of Jazz Times, here is a studio album from the quartet with Jason Moran, Reuben Rogers and Eric Harland. Familiar material is reappraised and transformed in this session recorded in California in December 2009. Tracks include new versions of “Desolation Sound”, “Go Down Moses”, “Lift Every Voice”, and “The Water is Wide”. There are also a couple of superb Thelonious Monk covers, “Ruby, My Dear” and “Monks Mood” and a beautiful, free arrangement of the Beach Boys’ “Caroline No”. Throughout, the interaction between piano, bass and drums is fleet and fluid: Lloyd’s saxophones float poetically above it.

Release Date: September 17, 2010

ECM Records