1. Pretty Girl
  2. Mood Indigo
  3. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
  4. All About Ronnie
  5. Pictogram
  6. You’ve Changed
  7. Journey Up River (Hagar Suite)
  8. Dreams Of White Bluff (Hagar Suite)
  9. Alone (Hagar Suite)
  10. Bolivar Blues (Hagar Suite)
  11. Hagar’s Lullaby (Hagar Suite)
  12. Rosetta
  13. I Shall Be Released
  14. God Only Knows

Charles Lloyd – alto and tenor saxophones, alto and bass flutes
Jason Moran – piano, tambourine

“Hagar’s Song”, from long-time ECM luminary Charles Lloyd, is an interactive duo recording with Jason Moran, the pianist who has been a key member of Lloyd’s latter-day quartet, contributing to the albums “Rabo de Nube” (2008), “Mirror” (2010) and “Athens Concert” (2012). The album features pieces especially dear to Lloyd, ranging from compositions by Billy Strayhorn (“Pretty Girl” a/k/a “Star-Crossed Lovers”), Duke Ellington (“Mood Indigo”), George Gershwin (“Bess, You Is My Woman Now”) and Earl Hines (“Rosetta”) to a standard strongly associated with Billie Holiday (“You’ve Changed”), Brian Wilson’s most famous Beach Boys ballad (“God Only Knows”) and a Bob Dylan song definitively interpreted by the Band (“I Shall Be Released”), played in memory of the late Levon Helm. The centerpiece of the set is the title suite composed by Lloyd and dedicated to his great-great-grandmother, who was taken from her home in south Mississippi at age 10 and sold to a slave-owner in Tennessee. “When I learned the story of her life it moved me very deeply,” says Lloyd. “The suite mirrors the stages of her life; loss of family, loneliness and the unknown, dreams, sorrow, and songs to her newborn children.”

Release Date: February 8, 2013

ECM Records